One of the features of the National Occupational Classification (NOC) is its system of codes. You will see this throughout the Ontario Skills Passport, Career Navigator and Working in Canada tools. Each major group, minor group and unit group has its own unique code.

A two-digit code is assigned at the major group level. A third digit is added at the minor group level and a fourth digit is added at the unit group level. For example:

Major Group 31 – Professional Occupations in Health
Minor Group 314 – Professional Occupations in Therapy and Assessment
Unit Group 3142 – Physiotherapists

The first two digits of each code convey meaning with respect to the group’s skill type and skill level category. For all non-management occupations, the first digit of each code (i.e. 3 as noted above) identifies the skill type category.

Similarly, for all non-management occupations, the second digit (i.e. 1 as noted above) identifies one of the four skill level categories (i.e. A,B,C or D). For management occupations, the first two digits also convey meaning. The first digit is always 0 to convey management, while the second digit conveys the skill type category where the management occupation is found.

The following charts summarize and illustrate the meanings embedded in the coding system.

When the first digit is the skill type category is:

1 – Business, Finance and Administration Occupations
2 – Natural and Applied Sciences and Related Occupations
3 – Health Occupations
4 – Occupations in Social Science, Education, Government Service and Religion
5 – Occupations in Art, Culture, Recreation and Sport
6 – Sales and Service Occupations
7 – Trades, Transport and Equipment Operators and Related Occupations
8 – Occupations Unique to Primary Industry
9 – Occupations Unique to Processing, Manufacturing and Utilities

When the second digit is the skill level category is:

1 – Skill Level A (Professional Occupations)
2 or 3 – Skill Level B (Technical, Paraprofessional and Skilled Occupations)
4 or 5 – Skill Level C (Intermediate Occupations)
6 – Skill Level D (Labouring and Elemental Occupations)



  • The first digit indicates skill type category 9
  • Occupations Unique to Processing, Manufacturing and Utilities
  • The second digit indicates skill level category B


  • The first digit indicates skill type category 6
  • Sales and Service Occupations
  • The second digit indicates skill level category C


  • The first digit 0 always indicates a management occupation
  • The second digit indicates skill type category B
  • Natural and Applied Sciences and Related Occupations


Major Groups

Intermediate Sales and Service Occupations


At the three-digit level, the major groups are further divided into 140 minor groups. For example, major group 64, Intermediate Sales and Service occupations, includes eight minor groups:

641 Sales Representatives, Wholesale Trade
642 Retail Salespersons and Sales Clerks
643 Occupations in Travel and Accommodation
644 Tour and Recreational Guides and Casino Occupations
645 Occupations in Food and Beverage Service
646 Other Occupations in Protective Services
647 Childcare and Home Support Workers
648 Other Occupations in Personal Service

By now you have probably realized that each digit of the NOC code helps to further specify an occupation. At the minor group level, you can pinpoint a domain in which an occupation is carried out. However, we need to go one step further to identify an actual occupational group.


At the four-digit level, the system is expanded into 520 occupational groups identified as unit groups. Unit groups represent further specificity within an occupational domain. To continue with the same example from above, minor group 643, Occupations in Travel and Accommodation, is further divided into five unit groups:

6431 Travel Counsellors
6432 Pursers and Flight Attendants
6433 Airline Sales and Service Agents
6434 Ticket Agents, Cargo Service Representatives and Related Clerks (Except Airline)
6435 Hotel Front Desk Clerks